Real People. Real Jobs. Real Adventures.

Upside Down Under

By Marvin Baker, a new weekly column in The Kenmare News

Plucking TV out of the air...

With proper equipment pointed in the right direction, there may be more over-the-air TV stations out there than you think.

Posted 6/03/14 (Tue) read more »

Parlez-vous francais?

These new Smart Phones are pretty slick, I have to admit. They can do just about anything except combine grain.

Posted 5/27/14 (Tue) read more »

Now let's keep Kenmare clean...

When spring rolls around we are all anxious to get outside and live a better life than what we’ve dealt with for the past seven months.

Posted 5/21/14 (Wed) read more »

The Chinese take another step...

Have you ever heard of the Alibaba Internet site?

Posted 5/13/14 (Tue) read more »

Caveat Emptor...

Am I missing something? Have I been living under a rock for the past 30 years? Did I get my journalism degree at the wrong university?

Posted 5/06/14 (Tue) read more »

A music icon or a disgrace?...

Blues musician Jesse Winchester may have been better known for dodging the Vietnam War draft in 1967.

Posted 4/29/14 (Tue) read more »

In a place where less is more...

A residual effect of a recent trip to the VA Hospital in Fargo opened my eyes to what I think many people have been misled about in recent years.

Posted 4/22/14 (Tue) read more »

Building on Earth Day...

Now that we've made it through Tax Day, we can begin to focus on Earth Day next Tuesday.

Posted 4/15/14 (Tue) read more »

Is North Dakota scenic in winter?...

Times have changed in western North Dakota as indicated in this column originally printed in the Cavalier County Republican in January 1999.

Posted 4/09/14 (Wed) read more »

The disappearing free press...

Censorship, cover up, secrecy and propaganda are all dirty words in a democracy, yet there seems to be some sort of a paradigm shift toward this kind of attitude.

Posted 4/02/14 (Wed) read more »